Fayette County was created on 1824 Dec. 20, from portions of Tuscaloosa and Marion counties. It is located in the northwest-central section of the state. It currently encompasses 630 square miles. The county was named for Gen. Marie Jean Paul Joseph Roche Yves Gilbert du Motier, Marquis de Lafayette, who was touring Alabama at the time of the county's formation. The county seat is located in the town of Fayette.


According to the 2000 census, the county has a total area of 629.34 square miles (1,630.0 km²), of which 627.66 square miles (1,625.6 km²) (or 99.73%) is land and 1.68 square miles (4.4 km²) (or 0.27%) is water